Mar 23 2013

Grand Slam Results


As promised, last night’s slam was the best of the year! The poets performed their hearts out, and we wanted all of them to be on the team! But, what is poetry without the competition? And so we are proud to announce the 2013 Art Amok! Slam Team. Congratulations to Gabe Moses, JAWS, Shlya, A. Morey, and Hillary Kobernick.


Thanks to Theresa Davis and Malika for hosting, and to everyone who came out to support some amazing art. We’ve posted some videos of last night on our YouTube channel, so head over and check it out.

Our next slam will be April 12. We’ll have an open mic and open slam with feature Denise Jolley. If you have not met Denise Jolley, prepare to have your mind blown. She was on the finals stage of the Women of the World Poetry Slam earlier this month, and her poems are full of love, light, and a little dose of fury.

Mar 11 2013

Grand Slam on March 22


It’s the event you’ve been waiting for! Our top poets will be slamming in the Grand Slam on March 22, competing for a spot on the 2013 Art Amok! Slam Team. The following poets are eligible for the Grand Slam:

  • Gabe Moses
  • Theresa Davis
  • JAWS
  • A. Morey
  • Shyla
  • Hillary Kobernick
  • Carly L.
  • Marshall “Gripp” Gillson
  • Tawny Powell
  • Quez
  • Mr. Funn
  • Karen G.

Our slam on March 22 will have an open mic, so if you’re not slamming, you’re still welcome to come out and share a poem or song. All poets should be at the slam on time. If you are late, we will start the slam without you. This is our biggest slam of the year, so come out and support your favorite poets. If you don’t know any of these poets, or you’ve never been to a poetry slam, we’d love to have you judge! A slam can’t happen without judges.

If you want more info, check out the event page here.

We’ll see you there!

Mar 11 2013

Slam Results 3/8/13


Thanks to everyone who came and rocked out the music and the poetry with us last Friday! It was a great show, and thanks to Janelle Faiman to featuring. The results of last night’s slam are:

Name Total Score Points Earned
Jaws 59.6 7
A. Morey 57.2 6
Tawny Powell 55.9 5
Gabe Moses 53.9 4
Nate 53.0 3
Carly L. 50.3 2
Mr. Mar 35.3 1

Mr. Funn also got one point for hosting. This was our last official slam of the season, but don’t worry! On March 22, our top 10 poets of the season will all be back to select the 2013 Art Amok! Slam Team to represent Atlanta at the National Poetry Slam. This event is not to be missed. We’ll announce the top 10 poets soon, and they’re not official til then.

And we’re just getting started. We’ll be having open mics and theme slams all summer. Stay tuned for more information about that!